The Importance of Journaling

I was going to do a crystal of the week post for this week but my spirit told me to wait on it till next week and talk about the topic of journaling.

Journaling is an old practice and is one most people have done sometime in their lives. If you struggle with your emotions and understanding them (as I do at times) or if you need more clarity in your life. Mental stability eludes you or if anxiety rules your inner life in anyway – if you need a friend or help with your spiritual self then journaling is something that’s easy and would help with all these things and more.

Like most girls growing up in the early 2000’s I kept a diary telling her about my day who I was crushing on and little details that I didn’t even think were important but journaling or keeping a diary is a sure way to have time with yourself (this is important!) and it helps you to know yourself more and have a bigger sense of self and assurance.

Writing in a journal will also help to declutter your mind your thoughts and your many feelings. Its just a helpful tool to use to help process the day to day and to reflect with your inner self and deepen the relationship between yourself and yourself (the soul the spirit).

I recently began keeping a journal again and it helps me to find five minutes at the beginning of the day to set intentions and it keeps me positive. I know what I want to accomplish everyday. And also five minutes at the end of the day to go over anything in the day that made you happy or mad or sad anything that brought anxiety whatever so that you reflect on these things and get to the why’s of these things.

Deciding to keep a journal again has helped me and it centers me. It can be a type of meditation once you get into a trance and just write it all out from the subconscious. I go back sometimes and read my journal entries and I’m surprised by what I’ve written and what I struggle with from day to day. It also helps me realize how strong I am and its a clear way of seeing how I am growing emotionally and spiritually even mentally.

Ask yourself questions in your journal. “Why does this bother me?” Get to the bottom of things. Get to the bottom of your soul. You can share certain passages of your journal with others or you can choose not to. Recently, I read about writing out your sexual fantasies and how this can help with wanting to know what I desire sexually. I did this in my journal and then I shared it with my lover. This deepened our connection. So, if some relationships in your life need work write a passage to your mom take photos of it and send it. Or simply just writing out what and why the relationship isn’t strong could help with strengthening the relationship from your end.

I don’t really journal about other people though my journal is simply for me. It is about knowing and figuring out my likes/dislikes. My desires. My goals. My dreams. Who I am who I want to be and how to get to the latter. Journaling is intentional conversation with the self and it is important to talk to yourself.

So, if any of this resonates with you; the next time you’re at the store get a nice journal that you feel connected to and some pens that glide over the paper and feel good in your hand (even a pen that’s your favorite color) (or all the colors of the rainbow // writing in different colors could help you with your chakras!!) and take 5 minutes out of your day to get better acquainted with yourself and focus on the most important relationship you’ll ever have which is the relationship you have with self.

 

Leave a Reply

