Natural Dyeing

Recently, I thought it would be a good idea to naturally dye the canvases that I paint on. I did some test strips earlier this month using avocado pits and the skins to get a nice pink – peach color. I think canvases and weaving and natural dying is something that is dear to me because its surreal to think that our ancestors use to do everything the natural way. Natural dying is from the earth. It’s like making something with mother natures help. So, I have done a little natural dying a wanted to share the directions on how to natural dye with avocado pits and share some photos of the results!

So, first thing needed is 3-5 FRESH avocado pits. The first time I dyed with avocado pits two of my pits were 3 days old and the color wasn’t as vibrant as the second dying. Whatever material that you will be dying needs to soak overnight in warm water and a mild detergent to break down the fibers in the material. The next day get a large pot and bring water (enough to cover material) to a boil. Add in avocado pits and skins (if you want to use the skins as well) and bring to a simmer. The water should take 15-20 minutes to begin to change to pink but if it takes longer be patient. While this is happening your materials can be submerged in the water. Leave materials in water mixture overnight (I left mine for two nights) then the next day rinse materials and wash if desired with mild detergent.

 

The first two photos are the test strips that I did while the last photo is of a larger canvas that was done and just some of the detailing you can get with the dying. Processed with VSCO with kk1 preset

And the final canvas I dyed. These canvases were a cream colored duck canvas material so if using a lighter fabric and a white fabric the color could be more intense.

If you have any questions let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

